Rosie Calls for the Passage of the Right To Record Act

“Good Afternoon. I am Rosie Mendez and I am on the Executive Committee of the Black, Latino and Asian Caucus. And I am here to say the obvious. There is a blue wall that exists in this city. That blue wall exists in this city, in this state and in this nation. That blue wall creates a blue wall of silence where good officers cannot talk about what the bad officers have done. That blue wall creates racism. A racism that is internalized, and it is institutionalized, and it is routinized, and it is accepted.

I am here to say I do not accept it. The people behind me do not accept it. The way to tear down that blue wall is to pass the Right to Know and the Right to Record Act. We need to destabilize that wall and tear it down! And I as a member for many decades of the Justice Committee and as a member of the City Council for the past 10 years, I am going to stand by these laws and do everything I can to get it passed. Thank you.” – Councilwoman Rosie Mendez, District 2

image

Leave a Reply

